about feminism, and getting shit done.

So far, my stories on this blog haven’t been about trees at all. They’ve been about people, in the various forms I met them, and how they pleased or annoyed me. And the ones that annoyed me the most were always men. That’s not an opinion, it’s just a fact.

In Jakarta, I arrived into a real female environment for the very first time. I stayed with Nuri, an incredibly awesome – not to mention hilarious – lady, with a very interesting life, and an even more interesting brain. It was really nice. Even nicer was the fact that she had a bunch of other girlfriends, who were equally smart and awesome (and often hilarious too), making my stay in Jakarta really pleasant, despite the city being known for being… well, a shithole. I spent more than a week in Nuri’s house and presence, and I was never bored, insulted, harassed, insecure, or on guard. And during that week I had heaps of insightful conversations about life, politics, knowledge, development, the state of the world and the future it may hold for all of us.

Nuri. Don't even consider messing with this lady, yeah?!

Now I am in Balikpapan, which is the most expensive and thus probably also the most boring city in all of Indonesia. I have nothing to do here besides spending my days trying to understand what is actually going wrong in Kalimantan’s forests. (I do this in an office every day from 9 to 5, in case you were wondering. And no, I don’t get paid to do that, in case you were wondering about that too).
It will probably not surprise you, but a lot goes wrong in the forests (Did I say forest? I meant ‘desert’). And a lot of those things going wrong are institutionalised and even ritualised in government systems and international economies. That’s not an opinion, it’s just a fact. Also, these systems are -almost entirely- run and controlled by

big

fat

men.

I wonder what the world would look like if the ladies I meet here were in charge… You know, those ladies that build micro hydro-power stations, observe the fairness of Afghan elections, plant trees or prevent the execution of a ridiculous, costly and destructive road construction.

But I’m afraid all of them are too busy getting actual shit done to be bothered with politics.

3 responses to “about feminism, and getting shit done.

  1. you’re such a debbie downer, lien!
    however, completely in favour of the getting-shit-done-movement

  2. Big Fat Men? whose that? hahaha …

Leave a Reply

