a journey among trees. i mean trains.

On the second of October I’m starting my journey. I will travel to Kalimantan, Indonesian Borneo, to work as a research intern for Tropenbos International. Tropenbos, a Dutch NGO, exists to improve forest management in several countries all over the world by “making knowledge work for forests and people”.

Sustainable forest management is a tough cookie, and the more I read about it, the more I feel making the difference starts here, not on the other side of the planet. After all, we have already chopped down most of our own forests.

This is why the journey starts

right here.

In Brussels, to be precise, in a bus to Moscow, where I will take the Transsiberian Express to Beijing. Yup, the intention is to make it to Indonesia by all means besides airplanes. Because flying made us forget what distance really is, but mostly because its impact is incompatible with how I want to live my life.

You’re hereby invited to join me on the journey. Buy the ticket, take the ride!

Expenses so far:
Eurolines Brussels-Moscow youth ticket 2-4 Oct.:€113
Trans-Sputnik.nl Moscow-Beijing with a break in Irkutsk 5-15 Oct: €610

3 responses to “a journey among trees. i mean trains.

  1. Go Belgium Go!

  2. Lien,
    I look forward to following your trip. Keep well.
    Fran

  3. You don’t stop thinking my little sister! But I like your project and I like you’re blog! Nice to read. Keep going, but stay safe!

Leave a Reply

